Premed 101 Forums

Professional students

Guest rphm

Guest rphm

I completed my BSc.Phm degree this year at the University of Toronto. I will be a licensed pharmacist after completing my board exams and internship. I am interested in UT meds its says that they encourage all disciplines to apply and it specifically mentions pharmacy and engineering in their website. They are looking for rigorous and coherent fields of study and pharmacy fits that criteria as a professional I know arts and science takes 5 full courses an year we are required to take 9 or 10 full courses an year, and most are professional courses or in the health sciences. When calculating GPA it states on the website you are ranked relative to your standing in your particular program, so will I be compared to pharmacy students? Or ranked with arts and science students who may have not completed a rigorous professional program like pharmacy. In addition I think the clinical experiences and knowledge of a pharmacist would be beneficial when preparing the U of T sketch. I was told by a friend in med that the GPA calulation is now subjective based on your programs intensity and coherence, your GPA is adjusted and ranked acording to your program. Is this true?

Guest Chieka

I am aware of no such differential weighting in the U of T application process. I think all programs are treated the same when it comes to calculating GPA. They will calculate GPA after dropping one course each year I believe. It doesn't matter how many courses you took (as long as you meet the minimum). I believe your GPA will be compared to everyone's - both professional students, and arts and science students.

The nature of your program may factor into your app in terms of the "non-academic factors" that are considered.