Premed 101 Forums

Non-traditional applicant--should I take the MCAT now, or in a couple of years? Assistance and some critiques would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry for the long post. Skip to the TLDR if you don't wanna read any of it.  Hopefully this isn't similar to any other posts.  I've been a long time lurker, so I don't recall someone having a similar situation to me.  But if there is my apologies!

First some background:

I graduated from university in 2013, after 5 years, with a degree in Biology, and let's just say my grades throughout my undergrad started off as hot garbage, and ended up being pleasantly mediocre.

After undergrad, I got a diploma in Medical Laboratory Sciences, and now I'm working full time as an MLT.

Hopefully I did these calculations correctly, particularly the OMSAS.

% 4.0 GPA 4.5 GPA OMSAS
cGPA 70.7 2.64   2.75
Last 2 years 79.8 3.47   *3.5
Worst 30 dropped 76 3.17 3.5 N/A
Worst YEAR dropped 74.1 2.96    

* I took 8 courses in both my last years of undergrad which probably makes my weighted OMSAS GPA null for some schools I believe.

As you can see, tis hot, putrid garbage. My grades from my med lab program do not count (well except for Memorial, I think. But I'm not a resident of the Maritimes so that is moot), so either way, I know I will definitely need to do a second undergrad, and hopefully knock it out of the park.

I know what many of you may be thinking upon looking at this. Why am I even bothering? I'm going to spare you my sob story, but basically, like many of you, this has always been a dream of mine. And after working in health care as a lab tech, my desire to become a physician has just kept burning stronger and stronger. I feel like I owe it to myself to at least try, you know? My thinking is, I may as well give it a good shot, so that I don't live in regret.

But if you want to tell me I am delusional, please feel free. I'm not being sarcastic either. I need some help and guidance.