Premed 101 Forums

Laurier V.S. Queen's Undergrad choice

Hi, I'm currently a grade 12 student looking to pursue medicine in my future.  My average is currently 94% and I enjoy biology, chemistry, and math, but i hate physics! I know there's no avoiding it though!  I recently got accepted into Laurier's honours science and health science programs and Queen's honours science program.  I can't decide between which program- at Laurier I could major in Bio and get a wide variety of bio classes and explore other science options- although I don't love learning about plants like the way I love learning about cells!  Or I could accept the health science program but I don't know how well that would prepare me for the MCAT or other career options.

In contrast, I could major in bio at Queens and also take a whole bunch of different biology classes, however, I know Queen's would be a bit harder and my GPA would likely be slightly lower than it would be at Laurier.  Both have their pro's and con's and I can see myself at both schools interacting with friends and professors.  I've looked at the courses taken for all programs at Laurier and Queen's and it's all very similar stuff.

I don't want a highly competitive program so I think anyone of these programs would be good?  Would there be a big difference in where I choose to go?  Is Laurier or Queen's better at preparing students for a future in the medical field?