Premed 101 Forums

Switching my undergrad program (canadian premed)

BugsBunny

Hey all, 

I'm a Canadian premed currently doing an undergrad in biomedical sciences. I'm currently in my first semester of my *second* year and my gpa is horrendous. I'm really weak in math and chemistry and those classes have brought my gpa down to a 3.0 however because of how Canadian med schools consider classes, according to them I'm more like a 2.69. There's no way for me to bring my gpa up to what it needs to be by the end of my degree with the difficulty of my classes and my strengths/weaknesses. 

I'm looking to switch into Health Science which class-wise would be much easier for me and I believe I would get much better grades. But I'm worried that Canadian med schools will frown upon that or hold my previous grades over my head. 

What is the recommended course of action?