Premed 101 Forums

Master of Health Sciences in Physiotherapy - University of Ottawa

Hi everyone,

I'm a 2nd-year student in Kinesiology (BSc) from Quebec and I would like to apply for the Master of Health Sciences in Physiotherapy of the UOttawa. If it's possible, I would like to get advices or ideas about my admission...

I have a GPA of 3.67/4.3 but if I convert it into the 4.0 scale it's about 3.41. Honestly, I think I might finish with a 3.54/4.00 (Winter 2024 excluded).

Also, I'm involved in research about children with CP (cerebral palsy) in a rehabilitation centre for kids between 0-17 and I do volunteering as a physiotherapist assistant in a rehabilitation hospital where patients are mostly elders.

Is it too early to study for the Casper test? Should I find a job as a physiotherapist assistant or do you think my volunteering is enough?

Thank you for helping me out :)

• 7 months later...
  • 1 month later...
On 11/2/2023 at 1:34 PM, ConfusedKinGrad said:

Master's at uOttawa does not look at your CV at all for the application unfortunately... its 50% Casper and 50% GPA

I'm pretty sure you need a 3.8 to be competitive. You might benefit from looking into schools that actually evaluate your experience.

I know that's what ORPAS says for the application evaluation, but I think it's incredibly dumb uOttawa makes you waste your time creating and submitting a CV if they're not going to consider it in their admission selection.