Premed 101 Forums

Unfinished program?

Hi everyone,

So I’m a non-traditional applicant. I am a freelance violinist and music teacher at low-income after school music programs.

I graduated undergrad in 2019 with a 3.73 GPA, and tried to get in on the 2018 and 2019 cycles. Rejected both times.

I thought, maybe I should try a medical related program to see if this is really a field I should go into. I applied to a community college program for lab technician for the 2019-2020 cycle. I completed all the coursework, but the 6 week practicum was cancelled as it was supposed to take place in the spring of 2020. It was postponed for over a year. The school was also very bad at communicating and often left us in the dark.

In the meantime, I got a job managing a food bank and completed a Master’s Degree. I ended up making more money freelancing and teaching, as well as at the food bank, so I decided not to finish the program/practicum.

Well, I’m thinking of applying to medical school again. The arts and music scene in my province is going to shit, and I’m starting to feel like maybe I left things unfinished with trying to apply, largely due to COVID.

I know that I need to submit all my transcripts, but how bad will it look when admissions see that I didn’t complete my program? I ended up getting a Master’s Degree so I wouldn’t say I have an issue with commitment but I’m very worried this will hugely affect my chances and I shouldn’t waste my time applying. Advice? 

I'm in my first year at UBC and popped on here for a reminder before exams of how grateful I am to be here :)