Premed 101 Forums

Help need better approach for content review

I am embarrassed to admit that I have only made it through 3 topics during 3 months. I am a non-traditional student (nurse) and took it upon myself to self-study using Kaplan books. I have been studying while working casually and babysitting on weekdays. I have read that people found the content review boring/easy/unnecessary and naively believed that I should be able to study on my own like everyone else. I did not even realize how quickly the time has passed and I have not done much and to be honest I do not have a strong hold of the content. It takes me solid 2-3 hrs to get through a chapter but I cannot study everyday with my schedule. I have already started incorporating ANKI decks and considering using UWORLD. I have seen so many success stories and I just wanted to know if anyone has a similar situation and what you did to improve your studying. I have no one to refer to and sadly the doctors in my hospital do not have time or remember what they did. I would appreciate any help. I am honestly starting to lose hope of applying this year

Hi there, 

When you say 3 topics... do you mean chapters? an entire section of the exam? some clarity would be helpful. 

How many hours are you putting in every day and what is your routine? Are you in study groups? Did you utilize any prep course??

A more detailed description breaking down everything you've done so far would be more helpful. Specificity is always appreciated. 

- G

My Apologies!

I have finished 3 subjects - Biology, Biochemistry, and Organic Chemistry