Premed 101 Forums

Nursing vs Science Undergrad

Guest mkur13

Guest mkur13

Hi Everyone,

I am currently in my first year of nursing in Calgary. My plan was to complete a Nursing degree as my undergrad degree, fulfill prereqs on the side, and then apply to med. I am currently not enjoying nursing but continuing with the hope that it will get better. I have come to a crossroad of deciding whether to continue on with my plan or to enter into a bachelor of science in which I could get my pre reqs done and go from there. I am hearing in many posts that med schools want people who arent just average science pre meds, they choose people who are unique. I am kinda confused on what direction would be best in order to be accepted into medicine??? Anyone have any suggestions???

I would look at why it is you aren't enjoying nursing and whether or not those aspects of the program will change in your upper years. You are best off doing what interests you and what you will do well in. Although med schools may want unique individuals, that uniqueness doesn't have to come from your choice of program. If you are hating nursing and have to work a lot harder at it to do well as a result, then you may not have time to do some really cool extracurriculars, whereas if you did a science degree that you enjoyed, you might be able to explore other things at the same time. Good luck with your decision!

Guest bananacreampie

Hi mkur,

I do have friends that are currently in med school and did a nursing undergrad so it is definitely a viable option, however, if you don't enjoy it, it probably isn't worth it.