Premed 101 Forums

Volunteering / Recruitment for Human Research

Guest shrinkage

Guest shrinkage

Hello everyone,

I hope this topic is appropriate for this forum...

I am currently a U of T grad. student in EXS. My project involves cold water swimming survival. Needless to say, it was difficult finding people who might want to participate in this kind of research (but finally, I found 15 brave souls, and am nearly finished my data collection!).

These recruitment difficulties gave me the idea that it might be helpful to other researchers to create a "centralized study listings board" (kind of like a job bank) for all of Canada so that members of the public could browse through current research projects and decide whether or not they would like to participate.

While it is still in the beginning stages, I would invite anybody who might want to be a "guinea pig" (I use this term in jest) to check out my website. Our URL is: www.researchvolunteers.ca

Members of the public are free to use this service, and can directly contact any researchers they like. For human researchers, we offer a subscription service so that you can post your studies on the website. Please note that we want to help the "little guy" from the 4th year undergraduate project student up to established Ph.D. level researchers.

We hope to hear from you soon!

David Lounsbury, M.Sc. candidate

"Research Volunteers"

E-mail: david@researchvolunteers.ca

Phone (416) 944-1986

FAX: (416) 944-2230

Guest turtle