Premed 101 Forums

Athabasca University

Guest Elaine I

Guest Elaine I

Has anyone taken a degree or a significant number of courses through Athabasca University? I will be taking a year of full-time non-degree studies next year (since I don't have enough FT years), and am trying to decide between U of T and Athabasca (both have been deemed acceptable by Western, the school in question).

Essentially, I see advantages and disadvantages for both. I like the fact that Athabasca would give me the flexibility to continue to work full time through the year without having to work a modified schedule. (I'm a paramedic who works shift work.) However, I'm a bit concerned that all of the courses are by distance education. I'd value the input of anyone has taken some of them before. How well are the courses structured? With the necessary effort, are just as high of marks achievable in the courses, even though they are by correspondence? Obviously, I need to maintain an A average.

Any advice that you may have is extremely welcome and appreciated!

Thanks!

Elaine

Guest Lorae

I've taken a few courses through Athabasca.

Overall I found I was able to maintain the grades I wanted. However I found that Athabasca courses took me a lot longer. I think the reason for this was that I was scheduling my courses around my life (working) rather than scheduling work around my courses (like when you have to attend a set class at a certain time). For me, it was far too easy to pay the $75 for an extension.... so I was *not* completing the courses in a 4 month period like at a formal university.

The courses themselves were well organized and you always have access to a tutor (your "teacher"). If you are able to learn by reading a lot on your own (rather than in formal lecture style) then you should be able to keep your grades up.

An important thing to note though: some course have labs that are only available in Alberta. Make sure you check into that before committing to a course.