Premed 101 Forums

Need to Vent

Guest ihatethelsat

Guest ihatethelsat

Although I am not a pre-med student, I recently came across this forum (I am a pre-law student who will be going to UT Law next year; I am from Sask)...

I would like to pose a question/situation to all you pre-meddies. I have found most of the people/posters on this board highly intelligent and well researched. In fact, I have found most pre-law, pre-med students to be quite bright and well spoken. Almost everyone seems VERY serious and dedicated.

However, I recently met this one gal who drives me up the wall (she is from my university and I tutor with her) - she has been given interviews by UA, UBC, and UC Med and has fairly high marks/MCAT - but her level of knowledge is outrageously lacking. She is the most immature, naive and basically stupid person I have ever met. She has not done any research into anything medicine related and has no idea what's what. She doesnt know how to write her own resume, can barely use the English language properly; not to mention that she acts and speaks like a 12 year old.

For example: when discussing financial aid, she said she would take her student loan money and buy a car because if she used the loan money up the med schools would give her more scholarships. She also said that she would apply to all the schools for scholarships (even if she was attending just UC) - and when I questioned how that was possible, she told me she had no idea and she would just do it anyways. Also, she is so ignorant to the fact that you actually have to plan things ahead of time; instead of just moving your whole life to another city on Sept. 1st 2004.