Premed 101 Forums

question about university

Guest MangoPie1015

Guest MangoPie1015

hello, im a high school student (grade 10) @ kelowna and i would like to know some information about university and medical school.

ubc:

what will admission averages be like in 2006 for faculty of science? in 2001 it was 85 % and its going up like crazy.

how intensive are pre med studies? i hear rumors on 60 hrs of studying a week?

on average, how many courses do premed students take a year?

med school:

how big of a GPA do i need to stay competive?

how many extra cirricular actives should i take. im only doing one but i wanna be as competivve as possible.

Guest codloghorn

a) admission averages will probably level off and decrease.

B) i don't think 60 hrs. is true. it's different for everyone.

c) 5/year; maybe 1 in summer school, but it's not necessary.

d) 3.65-3.7

e) maybe 3-4, it doesn't matter.

note: i'm very laid back. so, if you want to be really competitive, and have an excellent shot at getting into medical school, maybe 3.75-3.8 is what you should be aiming for. but, it isn't necessary.

Guest codloghorn

yes.. does it really make a difference, would you not have understood what i meant with the spelling i used? was that productive or meaningful to answer the question? no, it wasn't. :x

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there codloghorn,

My reading of the "laid back" post above yours was, "What do you mean when you mentioned "laid back""? Maybe that's what he/she meant also? :)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest arjuna83

Hi MangoPie,

I guess the intenseness of pre-med studies depends on the program you choose, and the University you attend. If it's a hard-core science program like biology/chemistry or physics I'd say you might have to spend a considerable time with your books, especially in your first year.

It's always good to take a full-course load of studies in your pre-med years. Usually, this would amount to 5 courses per year.