Premed 101 Forums

Distinguishing your self

Guest Turg82

Guest Turg82

Hello all ! I am currently an undergrad at U of C

I have couple questions:

Q1) Being in a double major program (Biochem and celluar bio) does this significantly increase my chance getting the interview?

I also have a publication (as a first author) in a scientific article for the work I did during last year.

My average GPA of 3.6 and going to write the MCAT this august. My mock up score is around 28 using Renert reviews. I know extracurricular activities are important but it can only be second to your MCAT and GPA

Do I actually have a chance?

Guest T dawg 2004

From what I have read and heard, being a double major doesn't give you any type of edge. . . In fact, if you are trying to distinguish yourself, doing Biochem/Cell Bio isn't very novel. . .

Your first authorship is nice! Congrats! Not to knock your accomplishments, but also know that there are many other fine candidates that will have experiences that are equally (and sometimes more) excellent! (i.e. some have PhD's or Masters degrees, etc.)

As for GPA, it depends on the school(s) you choose to apply to - for instance, this past year Western looked to see if you made the cut-off in 1 or 2 years (depending on whether you were still in school or graduated)...

ExtraCurricular's... well. i have a very different view on ECs. In my opinon, you gotta do what you want to do - the rest will come. Dont' force yourself to do them, just because they look good.

MCAT: A 28... well... Most cut offs that are predetermined are usually set around 30. But you have a week left before the test! So, just try your best on test day - you never know what might happen!! :) Also, there are several schools that don't even require MCAT (Ottawa, Mac, NOMS).

So, don't worry about whether you feel you have a chance - if this is what you want, try! If you don't put yourself out there, you can't get accepted!

Guest thecod