Premed 101 Forums

General Admission questions?

Guest Littlebantha

Guest Littlebantha

Hi everyone,

I'm contemplating applying to medical school and I'm wondering a few things:

1. I've taken only 4.5 courses the last two years, which schools will I be eligible to apply to?

2. Similarly, I'm in third year now and I have to complete the pre-reqs, so which schools don't frown upon applicants taking first year courses in third year?

3. Also, how many Ontario medical school spots are available in 2005 and in 2006?

Thanks for your help

Littlebantha

Guest Littlebantha

So most schools don't really mind how many first year courses you've taken and don't really consider if you've taken first year courses in 2nd and 3rd years?

Guest codloghorn

most do. it looks strange. you'll have to explain yourself to any med. school. taking them in second year doesn't look as bad. but you should not be taking more than one first year course in year two and three.

Guest blinknoodle

Some schools like Toronto want to see that the majority of your classes are in your proper year (ie. 6 3rd year courses in 3rd year) but I don't think it matters if the others are first year. Similarly, Western wants the majority to be upper level, I think (but without at least one full course load it would be silly to apply). Just make sure you also don't max out on your limit of first year courses for your degree. But I think you should be ok..

-bn

Guest blinknoodle

I'd look in your university's course calendar (check out your degree requirments). It obviously is different at each school.. at Mac, for my program, we could take no more than 48 units (or 8 year-long courses).

-bn

Guest s sadry

hey guys..i know 6 is the max that you can include in your degree at u of t..but no one will penalize you for taking other first year prereqs int ehs ummer for instance..correct?? these would be non-degree credits..i didn't think that would be a problem...

What signifies a 2nd year course to adcoms?