Premed 101 Forums

hs to undergrad and OOP

Guest Eleven

Guest Eleven

Hello, I am a high school student from Alberta, firstly, thanks for setting up such as awesome message board, I'll be coming back for sure in the years to come...

Anyways, I'll be graduating HS this year and I have to choose an undergrad uni. I've been looking into them quite a bit and I basically have my choices down to two schools, the UA and McGill. I was leaning towards McGill, but then I noticed the whole OOP quota system for med school, so I would basically be giving up Alberta citizenship at the UA, would this mean that I'm a Quebec resident and would have better chances at McGill? Or would I just not have a home province when applying to med school? Any thoughts on this guys?

Guest marbledust

If you graduated from high school in Alberta U of A considers you an Alberta resident (residency as opposed to citizenship - at least until Alberta becomes its own country

:) p) For medical school admission purposes to U of A or U of C, you will be fine

I don't know how it is in Quebec, but when I attended university in BC I could not be considered a BC resident for student loan or heath care coverage purposes because I was a full-time student. My student loans and health care coverage continued to come from Alberta for the 2 years I spent in BC as a student. You won't lose your Alberta residency by attending Mcgill.

However, if you are getting a student loan you won't qualify for provincial undergrad loans and grants unless the program you are taking out of province isn't offered in Alberta. You might still qualify for federal loans though - which tend to be much smaller.

Guest Lactic Folly

You'll also want to take into consideration grade conversions when you apply to med school, which may or may not be in your favour.

Guest CareBear15