Premed 101 Forums

Western vs Queens

Guest Alastriss

Guest Alastriss

Hi

Im a student attending a high school in Ontario

I was wondering which university should I go to if I strictly want a high GPA...Queens or University of Western Ontario?

O ya..i got into the Science program in Queens with my major interest being Life sciences and for UWO i got into the Medical and Biological sciences program..just wondering which one i could potentially get the higher GPA in

Thank you

Guest drews97

This is probably pretty hard to compare since there is probably no one who has taken both programs. You should definitely NOT attend a university just because you think that you can get a higher GPA. Both are great universities and I think that both programs would be very similar in terms of difficulty. Neither program is going to be Mickey-Mouse by any means. Make no mistake either, there are people that do very well at both schools and people that fail out of those programs as well, so obviously it is possible to achieve high levels of excellence at either school. Make your decision based on what program you think that you would prefer based on teaching style (size of lectures, amount of lab time, flexibility in respects to electives, etc.) and where you think that you would rather spend the next 4+ years of your life. If you go somewhere based on these decisions you will probably do much better than if you choose a school simply because you've heard that it is easier.

Guest klukyboy

This probably isn't the answer you're looking for, but go with whichever program interests you more. You'll do better in it as a result, and you'll enjoy yourself a lot more. How well you do has less to do with the program as it does with the student. There are tons of important questions you need to consider when choosing a school, but my advice is that the question you've asked shouldn't be on the list.