Premed 101 Forums

poor/good gpa

Guest Precision7

Guest Precision7

hi,

this is my first time using this board (or any message board for that matter). I was wondering if anyone would have some advice for my sticky situation. My first two years of undergrad was really bad, I had a two car accidents in my second year (one was mine, other driver was under influence) and the other accident was while getting a ride from a friend. The accidents were a week apart and my university would not help out. They said I had to drop out of school. I later found out about writing exams at a later date. By the time I got things going and was on my way to recovery, I had messed up my second year so that I was on suspension. My last two years I have worked really hard and my gpa was a 3.7. I know that the first two years do not reflect my true ability but I feel reluctant to persue my med school dream. I am applying to grad school and will apply to med after. I don't know what my chances are even with a good graduate school gpa. Do you think it would be futile to even try for med?

Guest mydream88

Dear Precision7,

I do not think you should snuff out your dream, your case is certainly not a lost cause. I suggest you look at the individual medical school websites to determine what their requirements are for admission. For example, at the University of Western Ontario, only your best two years are considered to determine your gpa, and combined with the MCAT, these two scores determine if you will receive an interview with their school or not. This year for example, the GPA cut off is 3.7 :)

so, first and foremost go check out the schools you are interested in applying to to see how they calculate your gpa and if your gpa, caculated by their method, would be sufficient for application to their school.