</username>
		<dateline>1118448840</dateline>
		<title>Unknown</title>
		<pagetext>(This

(This post is missing and can not be restored)</pagetext>

</post>

<post>

<thread>Y</thread>

<threadtitle>What is med school / residency lifestyle really like??</threadtitle>

<threadviews>0</threadviews>

<threadsticky>0</threadsticky>

<poll></poll>

<username>mark2811</username>

<dateline>1055573640</dateline>

<title>What is med school / residency lifestyle really like??</title>

<pagetext>Hi,

I'm very pleased to have found this board. I graduated 5 years ago in Computer Engineering and have been working ever since. I'm considering leaving my career and going to medical school. I've discussed this with a few people, including some current med students, MDs and others. Many of them feel that their poor lifestyle while going through school and residency wasn't worth it and in hindsight they wouldn't have done med school. Is this a common feeling?? When I heard this I was quite shocked....

So if anyone would like to comment on what the lifestyle is really like during med school and residency I'd really appreciate it. I'm a very active person (run, swim on a team, mountain sports, cycling, etc). These things are very important to me and I don't know how I'd handle giving them up, even if I knew it was temporary. Are med students and residents generally able to maintain a healthy lifestyle? Or is it basically school/hospital and sleep with no time for anything else?

Any comments are much appreciated!

Thanks,

Mark

Guest Lakers4life

The first 2 years of meds are pretty similar to your undergrad comp. eng [your undergrad was likely harder and more demanding though].

The next 2 years and the first 2-3 years of residency are like you described in your final paragraph. Work, come home and study, and then sleep [if you aren't on call].

Guest strider2004