Premed 101 Forums

Non-trad preference for shorter programs?

Guest Lurkergonepublic

Guest Lurkergonepublic

Hi all,

I've never been quite sure if I fit the non-traditional bill or not. I'm turning 28 this year, and have only recently decided to aim for med school (2nd year applying). I've been working full time research lab jobs for about 4 years since undergrad (basically doing masters/phd work without paying for or earning a degree, and getting paid more than I would if I were). I wrote the MCAT 3 years ago after an intense summer of evening and week-end studying, and have been picking up evening courses to fill English and stat prereq requirements. I am married, have a 2 year old boy, and am expecting (my wife that is) again in June. I'm not exactly switching careers mid-life, but I'm also not exactly a fresh grad with little 'beyond school' experience.

Anyway,

I'm just curious how many of you who are a little further on in life are leaning heavily towards schools like Calgary with a shorter program. I live in Calgary, and that is my first choice, largely because it is only 3 years. I feel very much that I would prefer to get it done as quickly as possible, and won't mind the short vacation breaks, since that is what work is like anyway. Shorter time till a real income, and shorter time living on loans looks nice to me. I would still be happy in a traditional 4 year program, and might like the extra time to figure out what specialty I would prefer, but I can't stand the thought of getting another 4 month summer job. Ugh - just the thought... probably because that is so recently all I did between semesters.

Anyway, just curious as to what others think about the matter.

Guest northerndoc

Hi,