Premed 101 Forums

Vancouver accommodation advice...

Guest Kirsteen

Guest Kirsteen

Calling all Vancouver-in-the-know people,

This Vancouverophyte needs a few pointers with respect to finding some good places to stay for the short-, and possibly long-term, in Vancouver.

Unfortunately, only ever having passed through Vancouver en route to Whistler, I have an embarrassingly miniscule working knowledge of the geography of the city and its various areas. Vancouver seems wonderfully interspersed with water, bridges, islands... quite alien, but very welcoming, to this TO resident.

In any case, there's a good chance that I may be nipping out to Vancouver in the next few weeks to visit some of the research facilities (BC Institute for Women & Children's Health) as well as meet with a few individuals in the Obs/Gyn Research Dept. However, I'd love to use the weekend to simultaneously check out the sights and sounds of Vancouver's culture, and digging wee, boutique hotels over massive hotel chains, was wondering if anyone happens to know of any in the Vancouver area? A quick search on the net has proven fruitless thus far.

Also, with respect to real estate in Vancouver (this is thinking way, way ahead) I understand that Point Gray and Kitsilano are close to the uni. and would make ideal spots for setting up shop. However, I've also heard about a couple of supposedly funky areas such as Gastown and Yaletown. Does anyone have any insights as to what these places are like, and where they're situated relative to the university? Ideally, if I move out there, I'd prefer to be a short hop from the university as opposed to driving massive distances to class every day. Although, with respect to Gastown and Yaletown, if they are neat areas and if they happen to be close to the teaching hospitals, then that would be positive.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest Ian Wong