Premed 101 Forums

BCSAP Grants?

Guest Jazz

Guest Jazz

I am new at this so please excuse my ignorance, I am a little confused as to under which category BC med students are considered for loans. The school emailed us and asks us to list "bachelor" as our program level, so will we be eligible for government grants or are we considered "professional" students? I have received my BCSAP assessment but it does not mention anything about grants. Thanks for your help.

Guest Ollie

I think that grants have been eliminated for students who are in the first year of a program. We'll only get grants next year. I put "professional" instead of "bachelors". Hope that doesn't make a difference.

Edit: I just looked on the website. Indeed students in the first year of a program are not eligible for grants. And only undergraduate students are eligible, so I guess next year I will be sure to cross off the bachelor's box, instead of professional.

Unfortunately for us, as of this year, the BC Student Grant program has been eliminated. The money is being redirected to fund the additional post-secondary seats slated for BC through 2010.

See below for details:

---------------------------------------------------------

"February 17, 2004

The Minister of Finance has presented this year's budget in the Legislature. In it, he announced that the BC Grant Program will not be available for students in programs starting on or after August 1, 2004.

For more information on the BC Budget, see http://www.bcbudget.gov.bc.ca/

Q What is the impact on current funding (2003/04 Program Year)?

A None. This decision will eliminate BC Grants in the 2004/05 program year, beginning August 1, 2004, and will not affect students in programs beginning prior to August 1, 2004.

Q What will be the impact on funding next year (2004/05 Program Year)?