Premed 101 Forums

Meeting with Admissions

Guest Innerlogic

Guest Innerlogic

Hey all.

I'm a 3rd year student hoping to get into med school at MUN in the near future (I'm from NF but going to school in NS)

I've arranged a meeting with one of the admissions officers (Janet McHugh) and was just wondering if anyone could give me any advice on questions to ask her or things to discuss with her.

Since I live about 5 hours away from the university, this may be my only chance to talk to someone in the admissions department, so I was to make sure I do it right!

Guest clinicalchief

You should discuss / ask about anything that will be considered, ie. your application. (I'm assuming your meeting with her to just make sure your on the right track?) By now you should have most of your criteria established (gpa, mcat scores, ec's, research and lor's). See what she thinks of all those things plus any outstanding issues or problems you may have as an individual. Are you applying as OOP? In that case you should ask her about anything that may affect your chances as an oop applicant. Hope this helps.

Guest Innerlogic

I'm applying as a Newfoundland resident

research is basically non-existant for me. I'm a psychology major, and so far (just finished 2nd year) no research opportunities have been available to me at school, and the hospital in my home town doesn't accept any students (volunteer or paid)

As for lor's...I have no idea what you mean by that

Guest clinicalchief