Premed 101 Forums

USMLE Step 2

Guest summervirus

Guest summervirus

Hi everyone,

I've been trying to find out some information regarding the USMLE but I have a few questions that I can't find answers for (yet). I was hoping that maybe someone here could help me out. I wrote the USMLE step 1 (and passed) after my second year of med school. Now that I'm in my fourth year, I'm thinking of writing the USMLE step 2. But, I was quite shocked to find the price to be nearly $1500 USD (not including airfare and accomodations)! So, I'm trying to find out whether or not it would be worthwhile for me to attempt 'step 2' after all. I don't have intentions of going to the USA right now but I want to keep my avenues open in case I need to move there in the future for yet unforeseen reasons.

1. If I don't write step 2 (and eventually step 3), will my step 1 results eventually "expire"? (It would be shame to have it all go to waste...)

2. Will I be able to qualify for the FACP examination (e.g. in internal medicine) with only the step 1 in the future when I'm done residency, or will I need to have completed all three steps of the USMLE?

Thanks. I hope someone out there is able to answer these questions! :)

SV

Guest Lactic Folly

Hi summervirus,

"Most medical licensing authorities require completion of USMLE Steps 1, 2, and 3 within a seven-year period, which begins when you pass your first Step."

www.usmle.org/faqs/faqusmle.htm#Do

www.fsmb.org/usmle_eliinitial.html

It does add up to a lot of money, that's for sure. Good luck with your decision and hope someone else can address your second question..

• 3 weeks later...
Guest Ian Wong

I would echo what Lactic Folly said. The 7 years starts once you take Step 1. I think it's worth it to get Step 2 done after CaRMS in Med 4. It'll be the same sort of material as MCCQE Part 1.