Premed 101 Forums

Give Pathology A Try

Guest Littlest Zooropa

Guest Littlest Zooropa

Hi,

I'm a path resident giving a plug for my specialty.

Pathology is a truly great option for med students with sharp intellects and oodles of patience.

First off: the average salary of pathologists in Canada was between $200-250 K. Some provinces average out less, some more. The highest paid group in pathology was General Pathology. Oh yeah, let's point out that pathologists, by and large, DON'T HAVE OVERHEAD.

Secondly: the lifestyle cannot be beat. I did the PGY-1 thing with just about every different discipline, and pathology has got it in the bag. EVERYTHING can go into formalin. EVERYONE can go into the fridge. Nothing has to be done about it at 3 am. **

And this teaching by intimidation thing that surgery has got going? No way, kids. Lousy people skills and crummy personalities? Ha, not on your life. Pathologists are doctor's doctors - you have to have some powers of persuasion to keep the surgeons in line! The only drawback to pathologists is that they tend to be very detail oriented (no surprise there) and because of that they can get very obsessive-compulsive about the little things. If you realize ahead of time that this departmental psychosis exists, it's easy enough to get used to.

You'll find yourself picking nits next.

Residency is very pleasant. Pathologists are among the most pleasant doctors in the hospital and tend to be excellent teachers. If your med school has a path residency program, go visit the residents. See how clear the eye, how rested the faces. Watch the pathologist transform people's lives for good or for ill with a few pieces of glass, light, and a cup of Starbucks at her elbow.

If you're not 100% sure what you want to do with your life, go visit your friendly neighbourhood pathology residents and see how happy residents can be.

Good luck!

** Forensic pathology may require some getting up for scene investigation

• 4 weeks later...