Premed 101 Forums

my dilemma...

Guest magicbullet57

Guest magicbullet57

i'm going to be a senior (4th year) starting september and i want to go to med school. my gpa is above 3.5 but i still haven't written the mcats yet (i'm kicking myself for it right now). my ECs aren't that great either, i've only been in one club, did some volunteer research, volunteered at a hospital and that's about it. i would say i wasn't really serious about doing to medicine until my 3rd year. however, i may return for an additional year after i graduate just to buy some time and write the mcat and do some more ECs. should i bother with this plan or just do a masters and start from there? i know this is kinda weird. your suggestions are appreciated.

Not so weird at all... I was in a similar situation.

I just finished my fourth year, but I did a co-op degree, so I need to finish up an extra term this fall, finishing at Christmas. I was really nervous to write the MCAT and kept putting it off, because my GPA wasn't that stellar and I only thought my EC's were ok. However, I decided to just go for it and I am applying this fall to Dal with the MCAT scores from this August (here is hoping they will be good! :) )

It's never too late to write the MCAT. I am writing mine now (summer after 4th year!) and it is definitely doable. At first I was nervous becuase physics and chem were a while back, but you pick up on things pretty quickly.

As for your situation, I have heard it is complicated to return for an additional year, becuase you have to apply again once you graduate to take courses (I am assuming you are applying to graduate in 2006). One possibility is to simply not apply to graduate this year and take your extra courses over this year and next year. Then you can apply to graduate in 2007 instead, which would be easier.