Premed 101 Forums

international med-student

Guest adlih

Hi, your forums have been very helpful.

I'm a university student in China and I want to apply to Canadian med schools. Are there international students in your med-schools ? Do you know if there's a quota per year for international students? With all the shortage of healthcare providers in Canada, I fear that med-schools cannot accept any international students...

May I hear from you?

Guest holyjohn

Hi,

as far as I know, Canadian med schools do not accept international students.

I know a person in McMaster school and she is from China as well, who practiced medicine in China as a doctor (with MD degree). She is already married and has 2 sons, and is pursuing BioChemistry undergraduate now to apply to Canadian med school.

Hope this helps.

There are a few schools that take international students... UWO is not one of them. I believe that McGill does (although they may only take American students, I'm not sure how broad their definition of international is). Mac used to take a few each year, then they suspended the program... not sure if it is running again.

Bottom line is that it will be difficult (and expensive) for you to get into a Canadian medical school as a Chinese citizen. Start investigating the requirements now. Canadian medical schools have strict pre-req requirements and GPA and MCAT requirements. Each schools' requirments are different. It is difficult to get into a medical school in Canada even for a Canadian student. There are far more applicants than there are spaces.

Guest pappy mckeys

I have applied to Mac this year. They do not have a seperate international applicant pool this year, but international students are invited to apply through the regular applicant pool. However, preference will be given to:

Ontario residents>>Canadian residents>international.

Hope this helps.

• 2 years later...
  • 5 months later...