Premed 101 Forums

Med School Funding

Guest Clairisa

Guest Clairisa

Hello all

I am wondering what people are doing in order to fund their medical education. Other that student loans what are people drawing upon as a resource.

Is there any specific scholarships, bursaries, or loans available for people pursuing an education to become a medical doctor. FYI I am a BC resident hoping to eventually attend UBC.

Also I read somewhere (not sure where anymore...though I wish I could) that the government will lessen or remove the debt load of medical students. Is this true? Or has ayone heard anything about this.

Thanks all :D

And good luck to all of you on waitlists!

Guest Ian Wong

Hi Clairisa,

I'd estimate that a good 75% of my class has at least BC and Canada Student Loans. This includes myself, and we're doing it with an annual tuition of about $4000. I can't imagine how the Ontario folks are handling it. :eek

Unfortunately for us, there is the very real, and almost certain increase of tuition as the Liberal government takes control. I haven't heard lately whether they will be maintaining the tuition freeze that has been sustained throughout the previous NDP government, but I think there are a number of medical school faculty who are recognising the advantages of a tuition increase.

The other major options are to take out additional loans. You can get something known as a line-of-credit, which gives you access to a certain sum of money. In the case of many of my classmates, that's usually around $15,000 annually for a given number of years. Therefore, effectively in 4 years, you have access to $60,000. With these line-of-credits, you are only obligated to pay interest on the amount that you use; so if you have a $15,000 line of credit, but discover that you only used $2000 of it that year, then you only owe the bank interest on that $2000, not the $15,000 you potentially could have used.