Premed 101 Forums

Financial Burden of Medical School

Guest UOMeds05

Guest UOMeds05

Hi all,

As I am sure that you are all aware, medical school tuition fees (at least in Ontario) have for the last few years been deregulated and have sky-rocketed. Currently, recieving full provincial and federal government funding/loans combined will cover not more than only 2/3 of tuition (if you are lucky), leaving the rest, including living expenses and all other misc to be financed by some other means (parents, banks, etc.).

As a medical student, I am curious to know if these facts have deterred you, a potential medical student, from applying and attaining a career in medicine.

Guest MayFlower1

UOmeds05,

My humble opinion on the matter is quite simple...if tuition is 5K or 15K, it doesn't really matter that much...there are great lines of credit out there...also, being in debt to the tune of 100K or 150K after med school and residency is really a non-meaningfull difference. It's taken my wife just over a year to pay off her 100K line of credit...and at the same time she has invested about another 250K (split with an associate) in her new practice. I think if you're serious about medicine debt will just be a fact of life...you just have to resign yourself to the fact that you will be living in it until you've been practicing for a year or two...unless, of course, you are fortunate enough to be rich...

...just my two cents.

Unless it wasn't blatently obvious...to answer your original question...money is really no barrier for me with respect to wanting to enter med school...oh, and by the way...in my case it's actually much worse than that as I'll be leaving a 100K/year job to go back to school...if you do the math I'll actually be in debt (theoretically) 150K plus 6 years at 100K for a grand total of 3/4 of a mil...am I crazy? Perhaps...but this is really what I want to do.

Peter

Guest PhantomPhoenix