Premed 101 Forums

What type of degree before med school?

Guest mossflower661

Guest mossflower661

Hi everyone,

I am new to this site and am very happy that I found this place, there is a lot of useful information here...

I am currently a student at the UofC right now and actually have not decided what my major is.......

I have heard that most students that have been accepted into med school usually have a BSc degree (botany, biology, zoology, biochemistry, etc..)......I would really like to go to med school but getting a degree in biological sciences just does not interest me that much (plus I am afraid of going into some discipline and not doing so well (affecting my gpa and chances of admission).....

I was actually thinking of maybe getting a degree in psychology.....

Can someone please tell me whether med school (especially UofC) prefer's a particular degree over another...

Thx.

Guest wattyjl

there is supposed to be no preference given as to your undergrad degree, most medshcools however do require that you complete certain 'pre-req' undergrad courses - typically these can be 'outside' of your degree, e.g. taken during the summer. go on the OUAC med-app website and there will be a pdf you can download listing all the ontario schools and their prereqs. for other schools go to their individual websites and look it up.

everyone says study what you're interested in, not what you 'think' will get you into medschool. i agree. if you're interetsed, you'll be motivated to work hard and that usually pays off when it comes to marks, which, unfortunately, medschools are unanimous in requiring (to differing relative degrees).