Premed 101 Forums

Relationships in Med School

Guest Snew

Hi everyone,

I did a search and couldn't find much on this topic (if somebody wants to direct me to a previous thread on this topic, feel free).

For those of you in medical school: how does medical school affect your relationship with your significant other? I would be interested to hear replies from people who are married, engaged, dating, whatever. I would also like to hear replies from people who are dating/married to people who are NOT in medical school, and any challenges they may face.

My problem is that I may be attending Dal this fall, but my boyfriend just accepted an engineering job in BC for a minimum of two years. So, any experiences from people who are in long-distance relationships while in med would also be appreciated.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Snew :)

Guest JewelLeigh

Hey Snew,

I'm in 2nd year med at Dalhousie. My fiance and I have been together for about 2 years and he has lived in Ontario since I started at Dal in Sept 04.

While distance always sorta sucks for a relationship, our experience has been not too bad so far. In first and 2nd year, you get all regular stat holidays, 2 weeks for christmas, a reading week in late winter and 3 months off for the summers. On top of that, we get lucky with a few extra long weekends here and there. So...combine that schedule with time he has taken from work to visit me, and we ended up seeing each other at least once a month. This is totally bareable as the next visit was never that far off. Much longer than a month gets very tough to see the "light at the end of the tunnel."

During 1st and 2nd year, the workload was such that I could work extra hard in the week or so leading up to a visit and then sorta forget about school during the visit without getting behind.