Premed 101 Forums

Some part-time years: is my med school eligibility affected?

Hi there,

I had a quick question for those on this thread more in the know than me. I did a bachelor's and three of my four years were full-courseload. (My fourth year was slightly lighter because I had advanced credit and could take one less class, which I did to concentrate on my thesis writing.) I'm now finishing up my last pre-meds at a local university (not under the guise of any degree, just as an unclassified student) but I'm also not full-time, since I don't need to take many classes.

Does this disqualify me from applying to any Canadian med schools? I've heard talk of certain schools requiring only full-time applicants...is this true?!

Thanks.

Hey,

In general, unless you have taken a full courseload for at least two or three of your undergraduate years, you are going to find gaining admission to medical school very difficult in Canada, as most schools require you to take a full courseload to be considered for admission. Why? Because medical school covers a ton of material, much more than a full courseload in undergrad, and if you've only been taking 3.0 or 2.5 courses a year, then that is not sufficient proof that you can handle the sheer volume of material that is covered in a year of medical school. You will definitely get lost and do poorly if this is the case.

Hi there,

To address your specific situation, you should probably be okay at most schools because you do have three full time years. You could post specifics about which schools you would want to apply to if you'd like.

A full courseload may come into play where:

Some schools would only take your full-time years as part of their GPA calculation, though they would acknowledge your prerequisites taken part-time.

Some schools allow you to remove some of your weaker courses if you have taken a full courseload throughout your studies.