Premed 101 Forums

Switching from accounting to medicine. How do I get prereqs? Improve grades?

Hi all,

I'm currently a 4th year undergrad student at York University in business, specializing in accounting. For the past year or so I've been unhappy where I am, and after 4 months working at an accounting firm for the summer, I knew I did NOT want to keep going on this path.

Recently I've had alot of interest in medicine, but I feel so lost! It feels really tough to try and figure out where to go from here, seeing as how I didn't plan on this right from highschool.

I have grade 11 bio, chem, and grade 12 (but not OAC - I was the last of the OAC students, btw) physics, and OAC calculus. I took the calculus through correspondance 2 years ago, and I'm thinking I should do the same to upgrade the 3 sciences.

I am wondering if I have to go through a new 4 year degree program or if there are post-bac programs? I'm really only interested in going to York or U of T. The thing is, I don't think the GPA of my undergrad will be high enough, unless I'm getting straight A's in all my 4th year courses, which is possible but I haven't gotten straight A's in any of my previous 3 years! I've also taken 2 summer courses, and my 1st year I had 4 courses instead of 5, so I know that factors into the weighting of the GPA but I don't know how.

Anyways, any starting advice would be great. I'm someone who's still trying to find their direction...