Premed 101 Forums

The OOP formula

Hello all,

This is my first time applying and I was wondering about the OOP formula. It says in the manual that OOP applicants are ranked and the top 125 are reviewed. So basically, if I did not meet the cut off, would they not even bother looking into my file? (that kinda sucks if you ask me).

Last's year's cut off number was 449... I calculated and i'm about 20 points below this... =(

Thanks in advance.

Hello all,

So basically, if I did not meet the cut off, would they not even bother looking into my file? (that kinda sucks if you ask me).

Last's year's cut off number was 449... I calculated and i'm about 20 points below this... =(

you are correct: if your oop application #s fall just below the cutoff, your application goes straight into the recycle bin.

last year, there were many people speculating what the new cutoff would be and whether they should apply or not. because the number of files that could be reviewed actually went up, many speculated that the cutoff # would go down. therefore, lots of people who were below last year's cutoffs applied anyway, and were disappointed when cutoffs went up (or stayed the same?) instead.

what does this mean? (practically speaking, of course):

a) cutoffs almost never go down for any institution, especially given the general upward trend in marks that university students are now experiencing

B) since you're 20 points under, i would personally save my money and go on a shopping spree instead (since that money was going to be spent anyway ;))

edit: yup, i was wrong about the oop cutoff. but if you think about it, the chances of the cutoff dropping by 20 points is actually quite slim. it's true that you'll never know if you don't apply, but then you'd have to think about the probability.