Premed 101 Forums

I need some information about nursing...

ahma99

hi... i am new to this board....well not really cuz i have been checking it out since august 2005 but this is the first time i am posting something up.. and it happens to be a question that i hope some of you will be able to answer....

i am just bascially interested in learning more about nursing.. what kind of degree u need... what does RN .. postRN and what does the term "nurse practitioner" mean... are these just different stages of the same prgram or what

also how do u apply to nursing .. right out of high school or university.

and what kind of salary do you make at the different stages of your career.. starting out (will you be able to support a family) is the job security good .. where do nurses usually work ... what kind of scedule do they have (is it a 9-5 job or randoms shifts ??)

and what exactly are the duties of nurse / nurse practitioner (sorry i might be using the wrong terms in the questions just because of my lack of knowledge.)

and also i head that nurse clean up after patients: is tha true.. or not

and the last question regarding nursing would be: since the nurses are usually female.. does this mean that a male nurse is seen as "lower" or different or what exactly happens if a male happens to be interested in nursing...

alright thanks soo much and sorry if i used the wrong terms here and there cuz as u might already know.. i simply dont kno ANYTHING about this career

Let me just say that I think that the best place for you to find specific information for nursing would be to contact nursing schools at universities that you are interested in applying to. But I'll try to answer your questions to give you a general idea of what nursing is all about...