Premed 101 Forums

UBC surgery electives?

I'm a second year med student at UofT, and I would like to set up some surgical electives at UBC (will be applying to surgery at UofT and UBC). I'm considering general surgery, orthopedics and plastics. My question is, has anyone had a particularly good experience with a supervisor at UBC that they would reccommend working with?

Thanks,

Theresa

I'm a second year med student at UofT, and I would like to set up some surgical electives at UBC (will be applying to surgery at UofT and UBC). I'm considering general surgery, orthopedics and plastics. My question is, has anyone had a particularly good experience with a supervisor at UBC that they would reccommend working with?

Thanks,

Theresa

Hi there,

I completed a 3-week elective in Gen Surg at UBC. If you choose to do a Gen Surg elective at UBC, however, you have no choice but to be allocated to the hepatobiliary team; therefore, you will be working with the entire HPB team, e.g., Drs. Chung, Scudamore, etc. If you elect to complete a rotation in a sub-specialty of Gen Surg, e.g., Vascular, Colorectal, etc., then you have your pick of sub-specialties, however, UBC does not recognize this as being a true Gen Surg elective for CaRMS purposes.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

i'm definitely signing up for that...most of my research is in hepatobiliary surgical oncology. so how does setting up an elective work? ive been told that we have '6 weeks elective' in third year. So i gather most people do two 3 week electives. What else would you reccomend?

Hi,