Premed 101 Forums

Pre-Clinical Elective for Cdn Internationals

• 3 months later...

Speak to any of the staff urologists at U of T. You can find a list of their names with their e-mails on the U of T department of surgery website. If you have the means to, I would ask around first to find out who among them is a decent person to work with though. I will say that anyone who is willing to take on a student will likely be a pretty decent person to begin with. You don't necessarily have to start trying to find people on the residency selection committee to work with yet, but if you can, even better.

A few notes about pre-clerkship electives for IMGs:

1. Check into malpractice insurance. As a Canadian medical student, I had to enroll in a course so that my school would cover my malpractice insurance over the summer. If you don't have that luxury from your foreign school, there is malpractice insurance elsewhere that my classmates investigated but it was ~$50/day. You could still look into research opportunities that may parlay into clinical exposure without the necessity of malpractice insruance.

2. If you are an IMG and interested in competitive specialties (ie urology), it may be worthwhile looking into which schools actually allow IMGs into their residency program. Right now Toronto has 4 urology positions, and they are all for Canadian grads. Who knows what will happen in 4 years when you apply, but it is something I would think about.

A few notes about pre-clerkship electives for IMGs:

2. If you are an IMG and interested in competitive specialties (ie urology), it may be worthwhile looking into which schools actually allow IMGs into their residency program. Right now Toronto has 4 urology positions, and they are all for Canadian grads. Who knows what will happen in 4 years when you apply, but it is something I would think about.