Premed 101 Forums

Research project

I'm a first-year medical student, and am worrying about CaRMS already (as if the present doesn't cause enough stress). Anyway, I would like to do a student research project this summer...but am having trouble finding a supervisor/mentor in my field of interest. So my question is, when it comes to CaRMS, if I end up doing a project in a field somewhat irrelevant to the specialty I enter (eg. doing research in Vascular Surgery when I apply to an Obs&Gyn program), will the research experience itself be useful for my application or will it be disregarded because it doesn't really apply to my chosen field?

(This of course assuming I dont have a miraculous experience through this vascular surgery research that somehow leads me to want to be an Obstetrician.)

Hey there,

From my understanding, research in your field of interest is always better then research not in your field. However, not all programs stipulate that research in that field is necessary. It is more common for the really competitive programs (ie. plastics, ophthalmology, etc) where you will definitely need pertinent research, especially at research-intensive programs like Toronto. However, for other programs like ob/gyn, which aren't as competitive, they may be more relaxed. Personally, I wouldn't sweat it too much, unless you are gunning for something uber competitive, because most students don't go into the residency program they initially want in their first year medical school anyhow (~20% actually go into what they wanted in first year, mainly those interested in family).

So which is better between the following options:

1) Being part of clinical research conducted by a group of prominent physicians but basically doing data collection (ie. patient history-taking) and a bit of observing of the rest of the project...so basically, if there is a publication, I'm lucky if my name is in size 8 font somewhere on the paper.