Premed 101 Forums

How does Western consider a victory lap 5th year?

So I had a bad first 2 years. My 3rd year was an improvement, but still nothing to boast about. I'm in my 4th year and looking at an 88% average this year (a bunch of high 90s, but a couple 70s brought me down big time and my OUAC GPA for the year will probably be 3.69). I wrote the DAT and did really well:

Bio - 23

Chem - 24

RC - 23

PAT - 24

Carving - 24

But...now what? My GPA really sucks. Will Western even consider my 4th year grades since my OUAC GPA will be 3.69 (for 4th year), even though my % is 88%? My first 3 years DEFINITELY won't be considered. Is a victory lap year an option? How will it work? They'd give me a conditional offer until they see my 5th year grades (if I apply in 5th year...this upcoming December). They would then average my grades from 4th and 5th year?

I know I have NO shot at Toronto, since my first 3 years would kill my chances, just as it would in the States.

Thanks!!!

I remember when I applied, a colleague of mine was in your situation. Basically, when you do a victory lap, they no longer consider your 3rd year and 4th year separate. Instead, it is added together and averaged out. Thus, if your two best years involve either 3rd or 4th year, the two best years they consider from you will be the average of 3rd and 4th PLUS the next best year.

I am not 100% sure that my colleague was doing his 5th year when he applied or when finished it. However, I know that they combine 3rd and 4th year because that was what changed his GPA from above the class average to below. He actually called the office to inquire because he was quite angry and didn't know why he was rejected.

Well, I guess Western's view is that a 5 year degree must be weighted weaker than a normal 4-year degree (excluding co-op).

NOTE: the info I have is 2 years old. Things might have changed.