Premed 101 Forums

Is a 3.75 a good enough GPA?

Wup

I've got a 3.75 GPA in a Science program, and the reason why it is so low is because of 1 bad mark in chemistry (I got a 70) but all my other classes i am getting high 80's and 90's. I am in first year. First, is the average any good for med school? Also, will 1 bad mark have an effect later down the road?

Thanks

I suspect that a GPA of 3.75 is reasonable, and would probably qualify you for interviews at some schools. Now the problem you might run into is that chemistry is going to be a pre-req for most if not all schools. Most schools calculate pre-req GPA separately from overall GPA (and the average pre-req GPA of admitted candidates is higher than the overall GPA).

Of course, some school also give you a little flexibility: If you do a more senior level chemistry course and do better, I believe that some schools will give you credit for the senior course when calculating your pre-req GPA.

i wouldn't say that "most" schools calculate a pre-req GPA, just some of them. some schools take your two best years to see if they are above a cut-off (i.e. Western, Queen's, U of C), some let you drop a course each year (i.e. U of T), some put more stock in upper year grades (i.e. Ottawa)...

you can definitely still get some interviews with that GPA, and you have three more years to get even better marks :)

in all seriousness, i applied in 4th year with a 3.75 and i got 3 interviews. i know others who applied with 3.85's and got nothing. so it depends .... largely on whether your mcats make the cut, essays and references, whether or not you qualify for gpa calculations (u of t etc), whether or not you have taken full course loads (or anything else that can exclude you from a school), or not taken pre-reqs, and also what province you are from (people from smaller provinces have greater chances of getting into their local school.

1. that gpa is no good for med school

2. yes, one bad mark ruins your life forever