Premed 101 Forums

Biochemistry Vs. Life Sciences

So I have just finished first year and now I have to make a choice as to what I want to major in. I have narrowed it down to two choices; biochem and life sci. I have heard both good and bad things about each program. I would appreciate if anyone in either program could illustrate the pros and cons in relation to:

Content (both a general summary and how interesting it is)

Difficulty

Interaction with peers

Value of the degree (not necessarily for getting into med school)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. :)

I'm a life sci graduate, so here's my take on that program:

The content of Life Sciences is (I believe) considerably more broad than Biochemistry. This is inferred from the fact that Biochemistry is a contributing department to the Life Sciences program. You will take basic biochem in the life sci degree (310/315,316, MBIO), as well as a lot of other stuff. But the broadness is well integrated, and you can pick your focus in the upper years to cater your degree to a few areas of interest.

I would bet that both programs are both fairly difficult. Not too hard to get 70-80, but harder to get 80-85, and really hard to get 85 or higher. That's really subjective, though, and up for debate. Their science degrees, though, so they are probably fairly similar.

In any program, you will have peer interaction. LISC has a lot of labs, especially anatomy, where you will work closely with groups. Pharm labs are group work. Fun stuff, they are.

As for value of the degree... I'll let you know in a couple of years :cool: