Premed 101 Forums

Does it (med school) get better?

I'm in first year at U of T...I was wondering if someone who had difficulty or disliked the preclerkship years could tell me (assure me?) that it gets better?

I've found first year to be draining and extremely difficult at U of T - I don't have a huge extensive background in basic sciences, so this may have made things even more difficult.

I still really like the clinical parts that we have learned, I still want to be a doctor, and I am still motivated to work very hard. This year, however, has been quite discouraging. I guess I am just looking for some reassurance that someone went through the same thing and it got better for them. Can I still be a good physician if I didn't totally rock first year?

I'm in first year at U of T...I was wondering if someone who had difficulty or disliked the preclerkship years could tell me (assure me?) that it gets better?

I've found first year to be draining and extremely difficult at U of T - I don't have a huge extensive background in basic sciences, so this may have made things even more difficult.

I still really like the clinical parts that we have learned, I still want to be a doctor, and I am still motivated to work very hard. This year, however, has been quite discouraging. I guess I am just looking for some reassurance that someone went through the same thing and it got better for them. Can I still be a good physician if I didn't totally rock first year?

Hi,

First year at UofT is definitely a challenge. I'm sure a lot of your classmates feel the same way even if it doesn't seem that way. The bright side is that you are almost done! Second year is so much better than first year, with way more free time and a curriculum that is clinically focused. And then third year is even better! So hang on for one more month, enjoy your summer and look forward to second year!