Premed 101 Forums

Student loan for mature applicants

Is there any difference in the loan application process for non-trads? Do they have to check my parents' accounts (they are retired!) or my wife's?

... yikes ... a lot of research to do ...

Hi there,

If you're referring to provincial/national student loans, then there's no real difference. They're as straightforward for you to secure as anyone else (income permitting). However, parents' accounts are not checked. (I think that's on the basis of the number of years since high school graduation.)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

The reason I'm asking is because I've been working for 8 years (so, a bit of savings + RRSP) ... got a house now that I am gonna sell (that will generate another chunk of money), and my wife will continue working after we settle in Calgary ...

hmm ...

Hey,

It wouldn`t be a bad idea to set up a meeting with a financial aid counsellor.

Your parents income is not a factor. Your spouses income however, I believe is a factor.

Some info I remember from my meeting...2 years ago, so can't give you many details since I don't really remember them! (this is for OSAP...don`t know how things are different for other provincial loans)

1) Your primary residence isn`t "counted against you". That is, they don`t expect you to sell your house if you want to go to school, but they would expect you to sell a cottage.

2) For RRSPs...I think the allowance was $2000/year since finishing highschool that you aren`t expected to touch. So if you've been out of highschool for 10 years then you could have up to 20k you don`t need to touch but anything over would be counted against you