Premed 101 Forums

applying as undergrad or grad?

I am in a 4-year combined bachelor of science and master of science program, so in spring I get both degrees. So I'm an undergrad (3rd year) who will also get a masters degree (but the masters program is very much abbreviated compared to normal masters programs). Can I apply as an undergrad to med schools (obviously, I would prefer to...it's totally not fair to compare me to actual grad students...)?

Hmmm...I'm not an expert on this, but I'm sure that since you will be graduating with a MSc, you will placed with the grad students. I have never heard of such a program and seems really weird, but I don't see how its completely unfair if you are placed in the same category as a grad student when both of you will be coming out with the same (or similar) MSc degree its only the structure between the two degrees/ programs that are different. I get your point though. Just to be on the same side I would email the schools that you would want to apply to cause they would know best and are very helpful.

Hope this helps.

Hum... I'm not sure I understand... are you worried that applying as a grad student might actually hurt your chances?

I'm not very familiar with other school's scoring systems, but for Ottawa, at least, applying as a grad student just can't put you at a dissadvantage, the way I understand it anyway. They first check to see if you meet the cutoff for an interview as an undergrad. If you do, you're offered an interview and they don't consider your grad student status at all. If you don't, then they see if your grad student status could help you. I don't even think you have to ask to be considered as a grad student... but it can't hurt. For NOMS, it also can only help you... they add 0.2 to your WGPA if you have a grad. degree.

Is this different for other schools?

i have no where near the same amount of time as "real graduate students" to produce research results - i have as much as any other undergrad.