Premed 101 Forums

"Wow-like EC's"

Guest BlazinKhan

Guest BlazinKhan

Hey everyone, I'm a first year student and am curious to know how to impress Canadian med schools with EC's. I managed to get an executive position for the Pre-med club at my school and am in various academic and social clubs. Now my first question is, am I wasting my time with these clubs? Do med schools even care if you were a member of a certain club or do they just look for publications, research positions and your GPA/ABS.

My other question is very broad and has probably been answered several times so I apologize since the search didn't provide me with anything. What kind of EC's should I get involved in to impress med schools? I have A LOT of interests so there isn't much I wouldn't enjoy doing, I was thinking about coaching for a soccer team during the summer and I am pretty well set for this research position. Thanks for any replies.

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest choti

The point isn't to have amazing extracurrics to impress medschools...the point is to have extracurrics YOU enjoy and YOU derive a lot of satisfaction from...these are the activities you will learn the most from. And bc you have learned from them, you will a lot to say about them on your applications and your interviews. I know I for one didn't have particularly amazing extracurrics...but I personally gained a lot from them and this came out in my interview.

Guest UTMed07

I don't think there is a list of "this-will-impress-med-schools" ECs. What people can do during their spare time depends very much on their background, financial situation and the opportunities around them (i.e. where they live).

Personally, I think the question you ask ("What kind of EC's should I get involved in to impress med schools?") should be "What can I do to learn more about medicine and decide whether it is right for me?" as that I think is more important.

Guest sensodyne