Premed 101 Forums

first year electives?

hi, i'm a new student registered in the bio-med program. i was just wondering if taking english lit.(020E) would be a good idea. the professor at my academic orientation thing advised against taking an essay course in the first year, but i thought taking an english course would help me on the verbal reasoning and writing component on the MCAT, would it? if anyone has taken this course, what was it like? Thanks!!

hey,

i would say NO. listen to what they tell you at SAO! i did the same kind of thing, i was advised against taking an Arts and i ignored it. i took complit 020 as my first year elective, and it was the worst idea of my entire life. I regret it to this day as it is still hurting my GPA.

i took it because i was strong in english in high school and i thought it would be interesting.

it was comparative literature, it wasn't even an essay course but it still involved essays, a lot of reading, and it was not fun. it's also hard because for science courses you'll be getting used to the multiple choice exam style/ problem solving and it's a different way of thinking than the essay questions that will be on your english exam.

if you're worried about getting your essay requirement done, don't be because you have to take bio 290f/g in 2nd year which is 0.5 essay credit, and in 4th year you can do a 1.5 essay credit thesis project.

if you really, really, really want to take an english course, wait until 2nd or 3rd year so you can take a 100-level one. those don't have any pre-reqs. if you're still not convinced and really, really want to take an essay course in 1st year, then take Film (i think it's 020E).

most science students take psych 020 as their first year elective. i took food and nutrition 021 at brescia as a 2nd year student, there were a lot of science students in it as well. I also wish i would have taken classics 047.