Premed 101 Forums

Help: Pharmacist --> MD

Hi everyone,

This is a long one and i need some advice...

I am 29, male pharmacist in Victoria BC and thinking about going to med school. Sometimes i am back and forth between clinical PharmD or doing med school. Part of me says do it all the way but part of me says it will be too tough and pharmD will be sufficient. Part says i will be VERY old when i finish. Just bought condo last year and a new car couple years ago. Now, with this new goal, i felt like it's going to be tough. But then, if i am just a pharmacist, i won't be going anywhere. Not enough challenge. Not enough patient care.

I've been as pharmacist for 5 years now. From first up to third year was fine because i was learning a lot. Now, it's almost as if i am bored to death with day-to-day retail activity. I was an international student. I came to Canada in 1996. Then went to pharmacy school at University of BC in Vancouver.

I work average 6 days a week now (2 places). Plus i have started studying MCAT for about 6 months now. IT's kinda up and down because i don't have a lot of free time to do it. Maybe one to 2 hours a day. Sometimes none at all depending on how the day at work goes. I heard volunteer is important when applying for med school. Because of my international student background while in pharmacy, i never thought of doing volunteer. I have none basically. I never thought the importance of it. I just applied for Big brother/big sister last month and thinking about doing hospital volunteer as well. Once a week on each one. The only thing i've done while in pharmacy was my involvement in music ministry in church for 6 years. Not sure if that will count or not.