Premed 101 Forums

Second degree GPA & Queen's prereqs

I have a BSc degree and currently working on my second undergraduate degree since I wasn't close to the cutoffs (BA).

I was wondering whether medical admissions committee will consider my gpa from my last degree or both when I am applying? As well, whether I have to repeat credits to meet the requirements for the biological sciences, humanities and physical sciences courses. Or will they just look at my first degree and see that I have completed them but not consider them in my GPA. Reference below.

http://meds.queensu.ca/undergrad/admissions/requirements

If anyone has gone through a similar situation please let me know. thanks.

haven't been in the same situation, but I believe Queen's will look at your cGPA (ie every bloody credit you've ever taken) and compare that to a cutoff (which has been around 3.68). If you meet that... whoopie!! If not, they will look at your most recent 2 years (regardless of whether your prerequisite courses were taken in those years) and compare the GPA from those 2 years to a second higher cutoff (which has been around 3.78). If you meet that, whoopie!! again (and no it doesn't matter which of the two whoopies you get, so long as you get a whoopie).

*** and by whoopie I mean the noise you make when you're happy... not the goldberg type...

I am pretty certain that Mac and McGill look at every single undergrad course you've ever taken in a university, regardless of when or how or what degree. Western (I think it's Western, should double-check 'cause it might be another one) will only look at the second degree. They say something like, "applicants cannot expect us to calculate GPAs from a mix of degrees." So yeah, like so many other things, it varies by school.

oh, and regarding the course requirements - most universities, to my knowledge, will only consider them met if you did them within the past 8-10 years. But again, it varies.