Premed 101 Forums

B. Comp Sci to Med

Hey Everyone, here is my dilemma, which I would like to hear some opinions on.

I am a NS resident who graduated from Bachelor of Comp Science about 2 years ago. My undegrad GPA was 3.45/4.30. Since that time i have worked in the government healthcare sector as application/database adminstrator. I have decided to make the jump in pursuit of Medicine, and am wondering what the best route is. I intend on writing the MCAT for January. My GPA is average, but I did score 1 'F' class in my final semesters, and most of the time I did not take on a 5 class semester load.

My plan is to take the MCAT during the Jan.25/26 writing. I plan on enrolling back into full class load in January (to do basic sciences that may help me apply to other schools), and also a full class load for the summer semester of 2008. While I am doing all of this, I would also be putting in time doing volunteer work.

How does this plan sound in terms of making me a competitive applicant? I have until September of 2008 to get my 'ducks in line' hence I am beginning to plan my actions now. Should I be taking courses so that they can see I would be capable at the basic sciences? Or would it be more beneficial just working? Does the 'F' hinder my chances, even though my GPA suffered very little? Does the lack of 5 courses per semester in my undegrad hinder me?

I would love to hear some feedback from anyone, espcially, in regards to applying into Dalhousie.

Also, would it hurt if i didn't take courses like organic chem and bio prior to taking the MCAT? I plan on taking a PR course, so I am hoping it prepares me enough to do well.

Thanks everyone, and good luck to all in your pursuit of the dream.