Premed 101 Forums

Damage done?

Hello all,

I'm a 2nd year student at Dalhousie and have a question about admission Medicine at Dal. I have to admit that I never really thought of going to Med. before today so excuse my ignorance. I messed up my first year pretty bad (C+) but was in a "academically rigorous" program, Dalhousie Integrated Science Program (DISP) for those of you who know it. First semester of 2nd year is nearly over (3 weeks left) and this semester is also pretty terrible.

However, after an interesting life experience, I'm really interested in Med and am, finally, motivated to actually achieve something. I do have some stuff under my belt thankfully. For example the DISP name (would that help even though I did badly?), I had a NSERC funded internship at the NRC the summer after Gr.12/before 1st year and have been working in a lab at Dal since 2nd semester of my 1st year and will likely remain there till I graduate. So basically my question is as follows: If a person messed up their first & second year is there a chance they can still be accepted if they significantly boost their grades and have a decent resume?

I only plan on applying to Dal, is it safe to assume there is a NS or Maritime resident bonus? I guess everyone else from NS/Maritime's would receive that bonus too but it might help.

And I'm sure volunteering would help the resume too. Do Med schools only look at medicine related volunteer experience though? Since I've volunteered in places like Soup Kitchens & my Church for years. I do have SOME hospital volunteer experience, but they're minimal and were done several years ago.

Cheers,

Thinking...finally.

P.S Thanks for your help :-)

Dal's medical admissions website will answer many of your questions. The site can be found here: http://admissions.medicine.dal.ca/

Short version: