Premed 101 Forums

High School %'s

Hi Guys,

I'm a Grade 12 student in Vancouver and I am interested in a career in medicine someday. Anyways, I was just wondering what your high school averages were (courses that were used to calculate university admission). Just curious, thanks!

This is probably an inaccurate way to gauge your "competitiveness" against other med school hopefuls, considering how drastically the GPAs of students can change along with the fact that most people entering university are selected and thus more academically inclined (I hope) than your average high school. I graduated with a 97% average in grade 12, but at the same time I know students in first year who failed in a course or two with similar previous averages.

This is probably an inaccurate way to gauge your "competitiveness" against other med school hopefuls, considering how drastically the GPAs of students can change along with the fact that most people entering university are selected and thus more academically inclined (I hope) than your average high school. I graduated with a 97% average in grade 12, but at the same time I know students in first year who failed in a course or two with similar previous averages.

Agreed. Provided you have grades that are good enough to make it into a university program, high school grades are irrelevant for your med application.

I think my high school grades were in the low 80's - a mix of A's and B's - they were good enough to get into Uvic - and then my first two years I had around a C+/B average - after that I picked things up - so high school/early University may not be the best indicator - I also have friends who were steller in high school and early University but fell apart in the end and ended up down different routes (Starbucks has a nice benefits package!).